Cn Award

Multiple NASC Members Nominated For CN Specialist Awards

Three NASC member companies – GKR Scaffolding, St Helens Plant & Chris Sedgeman Scaffolding – have been shortlisted for the Construction News (CN) Specialist Awards 2016.

The three NASC firms are in a shortlist of eight UK contractors – all nominated in the Access & Scaffolding Specialist of the Year category for their outstanding projects in the UK, or for their stand out work in the scaffolding sector.

And members, Chris Sedgeman Scaffolding are actually nominated for three awards – Access & Scaffolding Specialist, Apprentice of the Year (Dean Fry) and Project of the Year (Lloyds bank).

The prestigious awards ceremony – billed by top construction media title, Construction News as “Celebrating the very best specialist contractors in the UK” – will take place on the 24th February at the Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.

Lynn Way of Chris Sedgeman Scaffolding, who have been nominated five years in a row (and won in 2012 and 2015) said: “We are delighted to have been nominated once again for the CN Specialist awards. The standards we set ourself in our scaffolding and access projects are incredibly high, and it’s nice to get recognition for that dedication for our hardworking team. It’s quite a big year for us, as we are up for three awards. We’re not expecting to win them all obviously, but we have got our fingers crossed.”

Lee Rowswell, GKR Scaffolding Ltd. Director said: “We are extremely honoured to be nominated for the third year running for this award. We are committed to raising the standards of scaffolding by investing in our people and finding a better way to deliver projects safely to the highest standards. This nomination exemplifies the work we have been doing for the past 21 years.”

And Gordon Pilling of St Helens Plant said: “St Helens Plant Ltd were considered for the awards because of the unique services we offer to the scaffolding sector – as the only fully encompassing reconditioning and manufacturing facility of non-mechanical plant in the UK. Through our facility we see at source the standard of re-used equipment and also some of the imported products that show early defects.”

NASC MD, Robin James added: “Once again, NASC members have made up a large proportion of the nominations in this Access & Scaffolding Specialist of the Year CN Awards category, and others too – proving that the strictly audited and regulated standards to which they adhere are creating remarkable projects and access solutions across the UK. We’d like to wish all three companies the very best of luck for the awards ceremony.”

A Construction News spokesperson said: “We’d like to say congratulations to all our finalists who have made the cut from a bumper crop of excellent entries and to thank all of the companies that took part this year.“

Results from this media industry event will be shared on the NASC’s Twitter feed (@NASCscaffolding). And for details about becoming an NASC member, or to find out more about latest SG4:15 ‘Preventing Falls in Scaffolding Operations’ Safety Guidance notes, the TG20:13 full suite and the NASC – the UK scaffolding industry trade body – please visit or email: Or for more details on CISRS training, including a list of current providers, please visit:



NASC Expands Contractual Guidance Notes Offering


Update on CISRS Cards


Multiplex Signs NASC Safe Scaffolding Charter